University of Navarra

Pamplona, Spain
Joined November 2011
Presence in: Spain

The University of Navarra is a Christian-inspired university, initially founded by St. Josemaría Escrivá de Balaguer, also the founder of Opus Dei. Its missions is to seek out and transmit the truth, contribute to the academic, cultural and personal formation of its students; promote scientific research and teaching; offer excellent possibilities of development to its professors and employees; and undertake a broad-based labor of cultural extension and societal promotion, with a clear purpose of service.

The principal functions of the University of Navarra are:

a) Impart university-level teaching in the various sciences, confer the corresponding academic degrees and provide students with the means necessary–teaching resources, library, information about financial aid–for profitably undertaking their studies.

b) Promote scientific research in the distinct fields of knowledge, in order to aid in the labor of teaching and as a form of providing knowledge to society and favoring innovation and development.

c) Contribute to the formation of its students by means of individualized academic advising, which aids in the acquisition of professional skills and personal habits, and stimulates the development of the student’s personality in all its dimensions: cultural, artistic, religious, sports and solidarity.

d) Maintain a relationship with the graduates of the University, by means of continuing education activities, and other cultural and social initiatives via the Alumni Association.

e) Organize continuing education and specialization programs for university graduates, in accordance with the tendencies and needs of the different professions.

f) Cultivate the links which unite the University with the members of the Association of Friends and mantain them informed of the fruits of their collaboration.

g) Undertake the work of cultural transmission and university extension, via activities organized by the University itself and also via initiatives undertaken in collaboration with other institutions.

h) Cooperate with other universities and university-related institutions, such as hospitals, business schools, research centers, art centers and educational and development organizations.