Department of Justice, Ministry of Law & Justice, Government of India

New Delhi, India
Joined July 2018

Department of Justice undertakes and runs a number of schemes for administration of justice, legal aid to the poor and Access to Justice, Justice Delivery and Legal Reforms.

Presence in: India
Focus: Criminal Justice, Generalist Legal Services, Governance, Accountability & Transparency, Right to Information

Department of Justice is a part of Ministry of Law & Justice as per the Allocation of Business Rules 1961 of Government of India. It is one of the oldest Departments of Government of India and was under the administrative control of the Ministry of Home Affairs until 2010.

The secretariat of the Department is located in Jaisalmer House, New Delhi.

The Organisational setup includes four Joint Secretaries, six Directors/Deputy Secretaries and seven Under Secretaries. The functions of the Department of Justice include the appointment, resignation and removal of the Chief Justice of India, Judges of the Supreme Court of India, Chief Justices and Judges of the High Courts and their service matters.

In addition, The Department implements important schemes for Infrastructure Development of Subordinate Judiciary, the E-court Project on computerization of various courts across the country, Legal Aid to Poor and Access to Justice.